Announcement: New design for Exploring Our World

As regular readers will already have noticed, Exploring Our World now has a new look. Why did I change? Basically, I was starting to find the old design a bit narrow and cramped, and I think the new design is a lot more airy and fresh. Hopefully it should be easier to read too, because the text size is larger in this new design.

Please tell me what you think – if everyone hates it I’m prepared to change back again!

By the way, please can I repeat what I said a couple of weeks ago about the RSS feed – make sure that you’re subscribed to the one with FeedBurner in the URL, not the one with WordPress in. Click here if you don’t get what I’m talking about.  🙂

While I’m doing an announcement post, I’d like to say thank you to everyone who has helped me over the past three months since I started blogging. Every comment is really appreciated, and I’d like to say thanks especially to Gillian and Bill (Hyakutake) for your many comments. Thanks to everyone else too, and also to those people who visit frequently but don’t have time to leave a comment.

National Geographic

By the way, the new image in the header is from an excellent National Geographic article. Click here.

4 Responses

  1. I love the new design — it looks well organized and attractive, with lots of info-boxes and other news nuggets to catch the eye. Well done!

  2. Thanks Gillian! I’m thinking of putting some boxes down the side with things like ‘On this day’ with science-related info. Glad you like it. 🙂

  3. Richard, I thought you should know that your blog is taking a long time to load — I’ve tried it on two browsers, and the page just hangs for about half-a-minute. Perhaps you need to resize the header?

  4. I’ve reduced the number of posts on the main page from 10 to 5 – this should help a bit. Please let me know if it’s any better! If not, I’ll have to figure out what’s wrong. Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

